A Big Day

So today was a big day for me and my family. We had a team registered for The Color Run in Louisville, Kentucky. We’ve registered for this for the last 3 years, but I missed it last year because I was in the hospital after my hemorrhagic stroke (left thalamus).

Going into today, I wasn’t sure what to expect. I just wanted to finish the 3 miles and ft my unicorn medal. I started pretty strong, but around the 2 mile mark, I was fading. I struggled with that last half mile more than anything. But my awesome family got me through. My husband walked right next to me the whole way, slow as it was.

It ended up taking 1:45 from start to finish. But I got to the finish line and got my medal. It was SO flipping hard but I wasn’t going to give up without finishing. I WANTED that ridiculous medal.

At about the 2 mile mark, I found my knee and hip start snapping. I knew I wasn’t waking straight and felt like I was leaning too far to the left (my good side). But I survived it and have been napping and catching up on DVR since we got home (after a shower, of course, to wash off all the color!)

Thank you to my awesome family: my cousin Ken, his wife Sharron, my cousin Rachel, her daughters Ashley and Allie, her granddaughters Jaida and Ava, my Mom, mom’s boyfriend David, my husband Tony, our son Justin. (Our daughter, Taylor , is in Denver this summer, interning so she couldn’t join us – missed you, girl!). Thank you for your support and encouragement. I love you and appreciate you!!

Our team name was FAMI(LIES) based on the movie (and one of my absolute, all time favorites!) Four Christmases. “You can’t spell ‘families’ without ‘lies'”! Such a funny movie and I watch it every time it’s on. (In the off chance that Reese Witherspoon ever reads this, which I seriously doubt – lol – it’s truly my fav and I know just about all the words!) It never gets old for me. My husband, yes, but not me! 😂

On the way home Tony said I should think about planning to jog during next year’s Color Run. Here’s hoping!!🤞🏻🤞🏻💪🏻💪🏻

Here’s to finishing the race! ❤️❤️

Before!After!My mom and I, after the race. Before the race, Tony, Justin, and me. My smile looks REALLY good!Tony looked like a member of The Blue Man Group! Or Papa Smurf.Tony and Allie after they each got each other with the blue chalk. Headbands for the team made by me and my one functioning hand, my Cricut and my heat press.

The unicorn medal! I told Tony I was wearing it every day.

2 thoughts on “A Big Day

  1. Jennifer you are such an inspiration! Glad you made your goal and had that magic with you – the unicorn nudged you on and of course I’m sure God and the angels, along with your family and friends got you thru to the end! Way to go Girl!!

    Like

  2. Girl, you did awesome! Have to say we we’re all a little concerned about you that last 1/2 mile (last mile really) but you pulled it out. So awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment